Title: Nurses and Midwives (Tasmanian State Service) Award No. 4 of 2023

Author: Tasmanian Industrial Commission



The Nurses and Midwives (Tasmanian State Service) Award No. 4 of 2023, effective from September 2023, sets the standards and conditions for nurses and midwives employed in Tasmania. It addresses a wide range of employment aspects, including salary, working conditions, allowances, and leave entitlements.

The award categorises nursing roles into various levels, reflecting the scope of duties and expertise required for each position, ranging from entry-level roles to advanced practice and leadership roles.


The award is authored by the Tasmanian Industrial Commission, an authority responsible for managing industrial relations in Tasmania. This commission attempts to ensure equitable and fair working conditions across various sectors, including healthcare.

Key Takeaways

  1. Comprehensive Guidelines
    The award details employment conditions for nurses and midwives in Tasmania.
  2. Detailed Role Classification
    Defines various nursing roles and their respective responsibilities.
  3. Framework for Career Progression
    Outlines the path for advancing through different nursing levels.
  4. Inclusive of Diverse Nursing Roles
    From entry-level positions to management roles.
  5. Legal Employment Framework
    Provides the legal basis for employment terms in Tasmania’s health sector.

Post Graduate Allowance

In Tasmania, the Post Graduate Allowance for nurses recognises additional qualifications that are relevant to their current work area. Enrolled Nurses, Registered Nurses, Midwives, and Nurse Practitioners are eligible for this allowance, which varies depending on their level of postgraduate education. The allowance ranges from 2.0% for certain specialist qualifications to 7.5% for a Master's degree or Doctorate.

Nurse Type Qualifications Allowance Rate $ per year*
Enrolled Nurse Advanced Diploma of Nursing 4.0% $2,793
Enrolled Nurse Specialist qualification in a relevant area of practice 2.0% $1,397
Registered Nurse/Midwife Graduate Certificate 4.0% $3,284
Registered Nurse/Midwife Post Graduate Diploma or Degree 6.5% $5,337
Registered Nurse/Midwife Masters or Doctorate 7.5% $6,158
Nurse Practitioner Graduate Certificate 4.0% $5,035
Nurse Practitioner Post Graduate Diploma or Degree 6.5% $8,182
Nurse Practitioner Masters (excluding NMBA endorsement qualification) or Doctorate 7.5% $9,441
Registered Nurse/Midwife Bachelor of Nursing Clinical Honours (Transition to Practice) Equivalent to Graduate Certificate rate $3,284

* Note: The annual figures are indicative only and assume the applicable classifications are Enrolled Nurse Grade 2 Year 4 for ENs, Registered Nurse Grade 3 Year 5 for RNs, and Registered Nurse Grade 8 Level 1 for NPs.

This allowance is calculated on the nurse's current salaried incremental point and is continuously paid as long as they are employed in an area relevant to their postgraduate qualification. It serves as an incentive for nurses to do further education and use their enhanced skills in specialised areas of healthcare.

Related: Nurse Post Graduate Qualification Allowances

Clinical Nurse Specialist Role

In Tasmania, the nursing classification system includes several levels, with Registered Nurse (RN) Level 2 potentially aligning closely with the role of a Clinical Nurse Specialist (CNS) found in other Australian states.

Registered Nurse - Level 1. This is the basic level for registered nurses who are not classified within higher levels of registered nurse positions. They provide general nursing care and are the starting point for RN careers.

Registered Nurse - Level 2. Nurses at this level have demonstrated competence in basic nursing practice and can handle more complex nursing care situations. They also provide guidance to Level 1 RNs and are appointed within a clinical unit. This level seems to match the responsibilities and scope of a CNS, with its focus on more advanced nursing practices and leadership within a clinical setting.

Registered Nurse - Level 3 and Above. Higher levels, such as Level 3, include roles like Clinical Nurse Consultant, Nurse Manager, or Staff Development Nurse. These positions involve coordination of care in clinical units, management of resources, or responsibility for education programs and staff development. Level 4 and above are even more advanced, incorporating roles like Assistant Director of Nursing in various streams (clinical, management, staff development).

Related: What Is a Clinical Nurse Specialist in Australia?

Clinical Nurse Consultants

In Tasmania's nursing classification, a Clinical Nurse Consultant (CNC), categorised under Registered Nurse Level 3, coordinates care delivery in a clinical unit. This role includes providing direct care to patients or clients with complex care needs and maintaining standards of nursing care in the unit.

The Assistant Director of Nursing - Clinical, at Registered Nurse Level 4, develops and oversees clinical nursing practice policies and ensures nursing care standards across multiple units.

Related: What Is a Clinical Nurse Consultant in Australia?

Nurse Educator Roles in Tasmania

In Tasmania, Staff Development Nurses at Registered Nurse Level 3 conduct, evaluate, and plan education programs for nurses and education programs for patients or clients. They also work in staff development for specific nurse groups.

At Registered Nurse Level 4, Assistant Directors of Nursing - Staff Development coordinate the development of education programs. This includes managing pre-registration courses or post-basic courses approved by the Nursing Board of Tasmania, as well as overseeing staff development programs.

Related: Clinical Nurse Educator Role in Australia | Graduate Certificate of Nurse Education

Nurse Manager

In Tasmania, a Nurse Manager is defined as a registered nurse at level 3, holding a position of responsibility and accountability within a management unit. This role is distinct from the other level 3 nursing roles, such as Clinical Nurse Consultant, who coordinates care in a clinical unit and may provide direct care, and Staff Development Nurse, who is responsible for education programs and staff development.

The primary responsibility of a Nurse Manager is to manage resources within their designated management unit. This includes overseeing the unit's operations, managing staff and resources, and ensuring the effective and efficient delivery of nursing services.

Related: How to Become a Nurse Manager in Australia